Minimum Wage Claims in California

The minimum wage in California increased again on January 1, 2021, and employers should have been fully prepared for this increase. As an employee earning minimum wage, it is important to carefully check your paystub to ensure that your employer properly increased your hourly wages and accounted for all hours worked. If your employer failed to do so, you should not wait to discuss the matter with a California wage and hour attorney.

What is the Minimum Wage?

Many localities have their own higher minimum wage thresholds, but statewide, the minimum wage is as follows:

  • Employers with 25 or fewer employees = $13 per hour
  • Employer with 26 or more employees = $14 per hour

In addition, if you work overtime, your time-and-a-half rate should also increase accordingly to either $19.50 or $21 per hour.

If you discover that your employer did not increase your wages and denied you the minimum wage, you should take appropriate action to seek the wages you are owed for the work you completed. Sometimes, our attorneys can raise the matter with your employer, which can result in the company voluntarily issuing payment and resolving the matter. However, if your employer is trying to deny liability or will not pay, we can file a wage claim on your behalf.

In many cases, if your employer failed to increase your pay, they likely also failed to increase the minimum wage of others. We can advise whether it is best to combine all employee claims into one case.

Seek Help from a California Labor Lawyer

Don’t let your employer use changing wage laws as an opportunity to violate your rights to minimum wage. Instead, let the California labor attorneys at Martin & Bontrager, APC, stand up for your rights. Contact us online or call 323.940.1700 for a case evaluation to discuss your concerns today.